Find Monica on Google

Berry has a meme this week regarding googling our Second Life name. After that, we were asked to answer several questions.

google me

1. Google your Second Life name in “quotations” and share your results.

About 3,740 results (0.37 seconds). You may notice the number is different in the photo – that is because when I answered the questions earlier this week, I used an incog browser as instructed. Another thing I noticed is that when I was logged in, my blog came up 6th in search. Pay attention to where it comes up when browsing incog.

2. What is the first link that comes up?
About Monica Querrien – Second Life (SL forums). Out of all of the links that can come up, why this one?

3. Which link were you surprised to see?
I wasn’t surprised by any links. However, my blog is like 15th in google search, so I was disappointed in that. I need to see how I can bump that up a bit.

4. Click on the “Image” tab and tell us where the first 5 pictures listed are from.
4 of them were from flickr, and 1 from youtube. The pictures in the image are the same ones that I saw when I was incog.

5. Click on the “more” tab and then click “news” and share your results.

Your search – “Monica Querrien” – did not match any news results.

Part II of this meme is credited to Emily, who had her own set of questions even before Berry did. I am glad Berry linked the two question sets so we all get to partake in the fun 🙂

1. How did the two digital footprints compare, and did that surprise you?

I am not surprised, because I do very little activity using my real name. My SL name comes up with nearly seven times the amount of results compared to my RL name. The only social networking website I use under my real name is LinkedIn, because I feel it’s professional (can you believe FB used to be considered more professional as well? At least compared to myspace). Several years ago, a search for my name brought up a newsletter for a company that I used to work for. Thank goodness they had my old number, and not the one that I use now. Now when I look up my name, I see my name listed in an honor society that I was inducted into last school year.

It’s sort of awkward because most of my friends are on Facebook, and at first I was like I don’t have an account (I have one for gaming but not under my real or SL name). So they thought I was totally clueless about how it worked…finally I told them ok ok…this is my name on FB. Now stop treating me like a noob lol. It’s weird – I have my nephew on FB and he doesn’t even know it’s me. It was a random add from Candy Crush – go figure!

The reason why I am guarded about my RL info online is because when I first started using the internet at 18/19, someone used my info to put up an ad on a dating website. So I got an email from someone saying they saw me on a website and I was no…I don’t think I did anything like that (remember – noob to the internet lol). But once I saw what happened, and that the webmaster was unable to pull my profile (maybe it was bad coding? Who knows really), I felt violated. One of my “friends” took my info and posted it for all to see…and I was pretty sure I knew who it was at the time based on how the questions were answered. Luckily it wasn’t anything bad, but the potential for someone to take your info and manipulate it to their own uses scared me enough to not do too much under my RL name online.

2. Does anyone interesting share your name?
No one interesting shares my name, and again I think that’s a good thing! 🙂

3. Are you happy with the size of your digital footprint, or do you wish either one was larger/smaller?

I wish my footprint for Monica was bigger. And I need to see can I get my blog to show at least for top 3 for my results…that sucks I think.

4. If you woke up/ logged in one morning to discover over night you had suddenly gained rock-star status, and everybody knew who you were and wanted to know what you were doing… what would you do?

If it was in real life, honestly, I think I would go wtf…because I would want to know why does everyone know me and why do they want to know what I am doing. I remember when we used to live in an apartment building, several times a week when I would go out around the neighborhood, people that I didn’t know would come up to me and talk to me as if they knew me. Then they would say, “Oh I know your dad.”  Both my mom and I would hate that…we don’t know you so stop acting like you know us.

On the other hand, if it was in SL, I would embrace it and use it to my advantage. I am always doing different projects and working with different people in SL, so I would definitely use my status to help aid in that. Isn’t it funny how my answers are like polar opposites depending on which life I’m talking about?  Several years ago, when I was doing network marketing, I probably would had embraced my new status as well. And TECHNICALLY I could probably still use it as a boost now, but I still would go, “Wtf?”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.