Home Sweet Home

homesweethome_002

Home Sweet Home

Hey guys! So like I promised, I would talk more about my adventures of getting a new place. First of all, the land is 8128 square meters, with 465 prims. Don’t worry, the tier is a real bargain for me to compromise my prims 🙂 Now of course, the real challenge is how to make the place look great with such a limited amount of prims?

House. Well, I remembered that Novocaine Islay has great houses for a low price. I didn’t want the furnished homes because 1. It would eat most of my prims and 2. I wanted to have more control over my furniture selection.

Furniture. Thank goodness for mesh! I told my roommate we would need to get as much mesh stuff as possible so we can have a nice selection of furniture. To be honest, I was hard-pressed to find a good variety of furniture to select from. All of the places that were deemed to be “good” places a couple of years ago went obsolete when mesh started.  So, where did I go?

Trompe Loeil – This store rocks when it comes to mesh furniture, and I probably have the bulk of my furniture from here.  In the above photo the couch and kitchen is from there. I wouldn’t recommend resizing the kitchen unless you want a larger land impact 🙂 The couch has a land impact of 6, which was about half of what my roommate’s couch was before I replaced it.
          floorplan – I found out about this store from the With Love ❤ hunt, where I got the table with the chairs that you see in the picture. I was amazed that the table and each chair had only 1 land impact each. The chair I had from the ARIA  Salvador dining room set was like 7 prims alone. Granted that it’s a bit more fancier than the floorplan one, but this goes to show that mesh rocks. I also have a cute moon chair and shutter cabinets in my room from them.
        Apple Fall – I found out about this place at Fameshed – they had a nice skybox, but Apple Fall makes furniture as well. I bought a cute bed from there, but I had issues with the animations so I am still waiting to hear from the owner.

One of my pet peeves with furniture is that all furniture should be available with copy permissions. Now, I understand that people who buy their animations from a third party may have to pay more for copy animations, so in turn copy furniture will be more expensive.  However, not having a policy that you as the merchant will replace furniture that is no copy if LL asset servers go wonky is just plain greedy. If I don’t have a guarantee I can replace it, then I just won’t buy from them. Even in “first” life they have warranties.

See you soon guys!

Styling Credits

Pants: [SG*] Ripped heart – Deep black (Normal) (n/a)
Shirt: [PO] PO Est. Graphic T – black
Jacket: PARADISIS Yoko Jacket : Black
Boots:  Hucci Vail Midnight Boot – Midnight
Hair: [e] Over – Black 03
Skin: al vulo– leilani* april gold fish sunkissed
Shades: [Armidi Gisaci] Fi Umo Sunglasses – Black Turtoise / Black Lens
Nails: Candy Nail #P000 Basic French Nails 12color change

Makeup:
Oceane‘s – Cat Deep Brown Lips 2
[mock]Blackest Night Shadow (eyeshadow)
blackLiquid MAKEUP –  just gloss

Jewelry:
EarthStones Ti’ana Necklace – Onyx
Chop Zuey – Fire & Brimstone Ring
Zaara : Anjami Chandelier earrings *gold*

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.