The Nightmare Event – 2017

Hey guys! It’s that time of year again where Second Life has lots of fun activities to celebrate the spooky month of October! I will try to blog the events that I go to, so that you will have something to do for this month.

The first event that I went to was The Nightmare Event. For this event, you enter at the main level where the market is. After going down a hole, you get instructions on how to play the game. Do not use the link in the Destination Guide because for some reason, it takes you to the forest, which is towards the end of the game.

In order to win the prizes from the merchants at the market, you have to collect 25 teeth and 5 keys. When you start the game, you get a HUD and a flashlight, and the HUD keeps track of what items you have collected. Here is what it looks like when you get everything:

 

The game recommends that you use their region windlight setting, and to use mouselook. The game gets extremely difficult when you do both, so if you are getting frustrated, use your normal windlight and only use mouselook when you don’t have much of a choice (you will know what i mean).

Some tips:

  • Even though I did it by myself, I recommend that you go with a friend. You will probably find teeth faster, and you won’t feel as frustrated when you cannot find certain items right away.
  • If it is extremely hard to find a particular item, it’s probably because it’s not rezzing. I remember that I was not able to find 2 keys in my first go (yes I ended up going 3 times to complete the game), and even after someone showed me where one was supposed to be I still did not see it.
  • It’s okay to take breaks if you need it. The game lasts all month, so it will be there when you come back.

What I would have liked to have seen in Nightmare:

  • Saved checkpoints in the game that you can tp to at will once you have unlocked that area.. I actually got stuck at the bottom of somewhere at one point because I had fallen in between the scene. And I had to cam around and sit on a chair at a different scene to get back into the game setting. Someone else said he had to tp directly to someone in order to get back in.
  • At the end of the game, to be able to go back to other places besides the marketplace or the very beginning of the game.
  • Because it was so laggy to the point where it was hard for game items to rez, maybe for next year they could have a preloader HUD where people can wear so that all the textures can rez in for them before they play the game. This is what the Arcade does for every round, and it seems to work quite well. Especially because not many people can get in at any given time, this would help get people out faster.

 

Spoilers (do not look if you don’t like to know anything about games before you play):

  • You CAN die in this game, so be careful! You may re-enter the game further back than what you wanted to. If you see people running at any time, it’s because they had to restart and are trying to get back to where they were quickly.
  • By the time you get to the cave, you should have around 20-21 teeth, and all 5 keys. I say that because the first time I had 4 keys and 20 teeth, but I “finished” the game with 23 teeth and 4 keys.  Since there was no keys in the last section, and you can’t go back into the forest once you get inside the cave, it seems logical to keep that in mind.
  • If you can come up with some sort of “breadcrumbs” system to keep track of which teeth you have collected, that would be handy. That way if you have to redo the game to find missing teeth, you won’t waste time going after teeth you already have.
  • I took photos of the game as I was going through it. They do NOT tell you the location of the teeth and keys. It is more of a picture guide of things that you should see as you progress. Start at the lower left and go clockwise. That is approximately the order in which you should see everything.

Final thoughts:

Mostly this game is pretty straightforward. I would definitely play this again next year. For me,  playing the game is not so much in order to win prizes, but for the interactive game. This is why I like games like Madpea (I know I haven’t written a walk through in a while for them because the price to play has gone up significantly), because you get to talk to other people because none of you can figure out where to go next lol. You get to see the story line (if there is one), and you can see how talented the merchants and the event organizers are in setting up the sim.

If you decide to go and play, let me know!

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

One thought on “The Nightmare Event – 2017

Leave a Reply

