Some Thoughts on Commitment

Hey guys! This has been a busy month for me. Yesterday The Fashion Loft had its first fashion show, and it was a success. Considering the fact that there were several events before and after our show, I was happy to see that we had at max just under 40 people at the sim. Since I got a lot of positive feedback from the last time I shared my thoughts, I thought I would share my sentiments on my recent experience.

Glasses: Glamistry: Sunglasses PU2004
Hair: Tableau Vivant \\ Caprice (messy) – Browns (featured @ SLB14)
Skin: Glam Affair – Danni – Catwa Mesh Head Applier – Jamaica
Dress: ISON – sahara wrap dress -Maitreya- (lavender)
Jewelry: Chop Zuey – San Guerlian
Shoes: #EMPIRE – Kalmia
Pose: Di’s Opera
Location: http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/Mango/52/59/25

One thing that stood out in my mind when I thought about the show was the word “commitment”. In planning any show, event, or activity, all participants involved must have a strong commitment to it. This means if you are not able to make a certain time or to perform a certain action, you need to communicate with the organizers – even if this means going above what is expected of you as a participant. If something is not clear – ask. Do not assume anything, and definitely do not make decisions off of assumptions.

I had a conversation with someone, and the person said why would missing a scheduled meeting make or break someone’s participation in an event? People have things that come up and they need to reschedule, and it is not held against them. I guess this comes from what people do in their real life. Because for me, it seemed like pretty much all of my life, there have been meetings where if you did not attend, you would not be able to participate (unless you had a GOOD reason and it’s communicated beforehand): games for team sports, graduation, school trips, presentations (both school and work), orientation…and the list goes on.

Too many times we don’t want to hurt people’s feelings, so we do not tell them what they need to hear, or take action for the betterment of the organization. When organizing events, the event’s success is limited by the weakest link. If there are no weak links, then the event has a good chance of being successful.

Leave a Reply

