Sephora Virtual Artist for Second Life Avatars?

I was looking at Facebook, and I found this website where Gina Mei tries the Sephora app that lets you apply lipstick to your face. Well, a picture of your face that is. I downloaded it, but it didn’t work on my Android for some reason. I then found further down in Gina’s blog post the link to Sephora Virtual Artist, and was able to upload my photo.

sephora_002work

Two tips to keep in mind:

1. The site seems to favor JPEGs over PNG files, so keep that in mind when taking pictures, and
2. Try to have a natural nude lip (no lipstick on the skin). I first tried to use this with a slightly tinted lipstick on, and I could not get the SVA lipstick to apply properly to my lips. It was a LOT easier once I took it off.

Step 1 : Refining your lip boundaries.

sephora-step-1

As you see, the SVA takes into consideration whether your teeth are showing. Once you have made the correct selection, all you have to do is drag/drop the dots to have them line up properly.

Step 2: Make sure that the lipstick will go on your lips properly.

Some colors are more obvious than others, so I recommend going to the “Unconventional” color family and see whether those colors properly fit your lips. If they do, then great! if not, go back to step one. I had to do this a few times before my coverage was to my liking.

Step 3: Select from category, color family, and lip shade.

sephora-makeup

I left out “Filter By” because at this point you are just exploring the different colors. You don’t have favorites or a color IQ, so you will have one less thing to click.

There are several color families to choose from: brick, red, coral, pink, fuchsia, berry, purple, brown, nude, and unconventional. As for the lip shades, you can choose from matte, shimmer, metallic, satin, and high shine.

I was drawn to this color first, and I saw that the lipstick is named Monica ^^ I’m pretty sure this is named after Monica Bellucci, whom I adore as an actress. I decided to see how many Monica lipsticks Dolce & Gabbana had at Sephora.

sephora-makeup6

They only had 3, but I found another cute lipstick from D&G. Personally I like 1 & 4 the best. The second one blends in a little TOO well, and the third one is too light.

sephora-makeup2

I decided to compare the first Monica lipstick to other colors. So I started choosing randomly. I next wanted the SVA to surprise me with some colors.

sephora-makeup3

Not bad! These are all colors that I can see myself choosing. I then went to the Unconventional section under color family.

sephora-makeup4

I was expecting a bit more boldness here. There was a teal color that I liked, but I liked these 4 colors more. It seems that I tend to favor colors from Kat Von D. See, next time I go to Sephora I can check out that section to see if I like anything in person ^^

I realized that I looked at so many lipstick colors, and no lipgloss (which is what I tend to wear in real life). I quickly remedied that!

sephora-makeup5

I love all of them! I wish we had this in Second Life – either to demo makeup or to help use cycle through what we already have. As for Sephora, I wonder do they have this for eye makeup as well? I love trying on the shimmery eye shadows when I visit!

Now it’s your turn – what makeup do you like the best?

Styling Credits

Skin: Glam Affair – Luna skin – Jamaica
Hair: little bones. KillKill
Jewelry:
MINIMAL – Necklace ABC -GOLD- (currently @ TDR)
EarthStones Ariel Earrings – Mother Of Pearl
Shirt:Pixicat– Cutout Tie Top (Grey)
Lashes:
*Mon Cheri* “Falsies”
[ #7 ] Fallen Feathers LASHES (by  shortcake sugarplum)
Shades: Izzie’s – Oversized Sunglasses (brown lenses)

3 thoughts on “Sephora Virtual Artist for Second Life Avatars?

  1. Khitt says:

    Looks like you had fun playing in makeup! Cool concept and it would be nice to see something like this inworld. But tbh, using that would be way too much work for me, lol.

Leave a Reply

