A Season for Happiness and Giving Thanks

Tomorrow is (USA) Thanksgiving – time for turkey and lots of side dishes! I know I will be getting up early to cook all of the food ^^ One of the traditions for Thanksgiving is that you acknowledge things that you are thankful or show gratitude towards.

Many of us would say things like you are thankful for your health, that you are able to get up in the morning, family, friends, or financial stability. But suppose if none of the following applies…at least not fully? Maybe you are not in the best of health, or you are not on the greatest terms with your family. And, I know few people who currently can say that they are secure with their finances. If this applies to you, then it’s time to break things down. What makes you happy? If we are happy about something, then we can be thankful that something can bring us a moment of happiness.

I admit, I was feeling a bit pessimistic, and I needed to Google a list of things to be happy about to help trigger some ideas. When I started looking at the various lists, I came up with a few things.

1. Weeping Willows blowing in the wind

There is one weeping willow tree that I know of in my area. I think someone must have planted it intentionally, because it’s not the norm for that type of tree to grow in NYC. I usually have to go down south in order to see those trees. But every time I walk or ride past the house that has that tree, I feel a sense of calmness, and the gentle rustling sound makes me smile for a moment.

2. Random encounters with people

You can have many random encounters but not all of them will be pleasant. The other day, I was out grocery shopping for Thanksgiving. I finally got a seat on the bus coming back home (my bags were ripping because SOMEONE didn’t double bag my purchases :/), and a passenger said, “What are you going to do with all of those bags?” I smiled…I forgot what I had said in response. But we did share a chuckle when a guy behind us asked her where was Target (the next stop). And then a minute later, “You wouldn’t happen to be getting off to go to Target, right?” It was all I can do not to laugh at the unseen man as he got off the bus. The young woman moved to a single seat a few stops later, and I nodded with approval. She had been trying to get a single seat, but someone else was always faster. I can emphasize with that; I would had preferred one myself.

I like these random encounters because it makes for a good story, and it adds a little bit of spice to your day.

3. Hugs

I like hugs – hugs with people, and even hugs from friends online. I remember there was a time I used to say, “I’m in a huggy mood today” on IRC and I would get all of the hugs from friends in the room at the time. I think people in Second Life would think that I’m weird if I would say that now…I am not sure.

On one of the lists that I read, it had ” A mother’s hug”. I agree to that 1000%. I used to hug my mom every day to the point that I annoyed her 😀 I would always hug her like 30 seconds longer than she wanted. But I would take none of those moments back…not at all.

4. Laughing until it hurts

I’ll never forget the episode in South Park when consuming too much gluten would cause a gruesome death. Between the demonstration of consuming pure gluten, Cartman freaking out that all of the snacks were gone, and Sharon and Randy throwing away like 90% of their food, it was one huge laugh fest. I even texted some of my friends, still laughing…and then they laughed too lol.

 

5. Cats

I absolutely adore cats – they are fun to cuddle (when they let you), and they are such fascinating creatures. Independent with a touch of sass ^^

I think five things to be happy about is a good start. What are some of the things that you are thankful for, or makes you happy?

 

Styling Credits

Outfit: Ghee Sherlock Suit – Viridian
Hair: “”D!va“” Hair “Norma” (Type A)(Citrine)
Skin: Glam Affair – Alice – SummerParty – Jamaica
Scarf: Enfant Terrible. Vintage Girl scarf 
Shoes: Ghee Viridian Croc T-Bar Heels
Earrings: Ghee Gumball Antique Pearl Earring

Pose:  an lar [poses] The Lovely Series (@ Shiny Shabby)
Location: ! Countryside

 

Leave a Reply

