Windlight Settings Challenge

sushi_003

Practicing my cooking skills

Hey guys! Berry has another challenge for us about windlights. I’m not sure how helpful I will be because I still feel like a noob when it comes to things like this. But, I’ll give it a shot  😀

Do you use windlight while taking pictures? If not, why not?

No….I just set up a ton of lights to emulate windlight settings…
…of course I use windlight – I want to know who doesn’t use windlight for photos (and still take great pictures).

When taking a closeup snapshot for a profile picture, which windlight preset do you use most often?

I can’t really say if I have a particular one that I use – I just flip to various lights until I see one that looks good. I do favor brighter lights like Berry’s StrawberrySingh.com – Closeups one. I just downloaded her newer settings (first time I did that  so see? I’m learning :D)

Which windlight presets do you use for full body portraits?

Oh that entirely depends on the mood I want to portray, plus what looks best with the clothing and settings that I like. I guess I could stand to pick a few “classic” settings so that my photos can “look” like mine, if that makes any sense.

If you do landscape photography, which windlights do you use for that most often?

I don’t know 😦 When I do take scenic photos, I try to use windlight to capture the mood. I’ll show you what I mean:

hfcont'_0041

Hair Fair 2013

LDF_003
Love Donna Flora fundraiser

Two different sims with two different themes. I don’t remember the windlights that I used, but I can’t see how you would use the same windlight for both. One has a more vibrant feel, especially with the use of primary colors; the other one has a more rustic/old country feel to it.

Do you have any tricks or tips that you could share for using Windlight effectively?

Yeah – don’t be afraid to use windlight haha. After that, looking at various windlights and tweaking the default settings is great too.

Have you created any windlights that you would be willing to share with us?

I have one that my friend had originally made for water, and then when I tweaked it, she liked my changes. I am not really sure how to upload files and the like – we did ours manually. So if you feel like reading, go ahead!

The Sexy Jania (jania.cleanslate): do u have ur windlight water on
The Sexy Jania (jania.cleanslate): i made my own settings
The Sexy Jania (jania.cleanslate): i want to give it to ppl
The Sexy Jania (jania.cleanslate): i looks beautiful
Monica Querrien: its at default
The Sexy Jania (jania.cleanslate): awww
Monica Querrien: its pretty though
Monica Querrien: all shiny
Monica Querrien: and colorful
The Sexy Jania (jania.cleanslate): ok fog color is the aqua blue at the lightest setting
The Sexy Jania (jania.cleanslate): fog is 5.7 under fog is 0.30
The Sexy Jania (jania.cleanslate): big x 1.05
The Sexy Jania (jania.cleanslate): y -0.42
The Sexy Jania (jania.cleanslate): little wave x 1.11
The Sexy Jania (jania.cleanslate): y -1.16
The Sexy Jania (jania.cleanslate): e=reflection xyz = 2.0
The Sexy Jania (jania.cleanslate): **reflection
The Sexy Jania (jania.cleanslate): fresnel scale 0.20
The Sexy Jania (jania.cleanslate): frenel offset 0.49
The Sexy Jania (jania.cleanslate): refract scale above 0.01
The Sexy Jania (jania.cleanslate): below 0.10
The Sexy Jania (jania.cleanslate): blur 0.11
The Sexy Jania (jania.cleanslate): blur 0.111
Monica Querrien: ok changed it
Monica Querrien: idk what happen
Monica Querrien: i saved it
Monica Querrien: and ic ant find it in my saved
Monica Querrien: oh
Monica Querrien: i cant use the toolbutton short cut
Monica Querrien: its like aquamarine right
The Sexy Jania (jania.cleanslate): let me see
The Sexy Jania (jania.cleanslate): red112
Second Life: Inventory item offered
The Sexy Jania (jania.cleanslate): green 255
Second Life: secondlife:///app/agent/076bdbe6-4cb7-4425-b224-1e38ba083639/completename received your inventory offer.
The Sexy Jania (jania.cleanslate): blue 255
The Sexy Jania (jania.cleanslate): hue 180
The Sexy Jania (jania.cleanslate): sat 100
The Sexy Jania (jania.cleanslate): lum 72
The Sexy Jania (jania.cleanslate): louaghs
The Sexy Jania (jania.cleanslate): i like ur water better
The Sexy Jania (jania.cleanslate): mine is more green
The Sexy Jania (jania.cleanslate): urs is blue
The Sexy Jania (jania.cleanslate): lol
The Sexy Jania (jania.cleanslate): why is the trees not rezzed tho
The Sexy Jania (jania.cleanslate): like the tops
Monica Querrien: draw distance maybe
The Sexy Jania (jania.cleanslate): ok
Monica Querrien: its at 120
The Sexy Jania (jania.cleanslate): just hoping i didn’t mess up again
The Sexy Jania (jania.cleanslate): lol
The Sexy Jania (jania.cleanslate): ohh
Monica Querrien: red: 125,green 253, blue 253, hue 180, sat 97, lum 74
Monica Querrien: that was mine
Monica Querrien: so pretty close

Leave a Reply

