Social Media Meme

beachy_001remix

Multitasking by the pool

New meme – all about social media! I have been multitasking today – blogging, working on a few projects, and will help a friend with a RL paper after I finish this post. Phew! :)

All of my answers are geared towards SL. I do have a Facebook, but it’s not SL based and I use it for gaming and keeping track of close rl friends (because they kept bugging me for my FB link! :P )

1. What was the first social network you joined using your SL Avatar?

Probably Flickr…I have pictures from 2010 that I can’t view because I’m not pro…pfft.

2. Which social networks are you currently on using your SL Avatar?

Flickr
Plurk
Google+
Pinterest
Second Life Profile
2ndHub

I have been meaning to get a Facebook page, but haven’t had the push for it yet. Maybe sometime soon.

3 & 4. Which network is your favorite/ least favorite?

Based on usage, Plurk / 2ndhub. It’s like day and night with the amount of activity.

5. Which network do you have the most amount of connections?

I think Plurk…

6. What are your favorite social networking apps? (if applicable)

I don’t have a smartphone :(

7. What do you like most about social networking sites?

The amount of information available and shared among people, and the community that forms as a result of it. I have seen a lot of good done in a short amount of time that  10-15 years ago would have taken a lot of time and money just to get the word out to people.

8. What do you like least about social networking sites?

Information spreads; misinformation spreads rapidly. So many people believe what they read without fact-checking for themselves that it is scary. You can really destroy someone’s reputation using social media, and I don’t think people should have that ability if it’s for catty reasons.

9. Do you feel social networks are a good way to promote you/your brand/your work?

Just like anything else, you get out what you put in. If you spend minimal time on the network, then you won’t get much back. But if your followers can identify with you because you share information that helps them get to know you, then absolutely.

10. What is your main reason for using Social Networks?

To stay informed as to what is happening in SL. Also to make friends, but I don’t think I have been that successful in that aspect. I know someone who devotes a lot of time on Flickr going to people’s profiles and commenting on pictures. Then when an unfortunate situation happened between her and a designer and she posted it on Flickr, the feedback was huge. She was even surprised that many people responded and put her picture in their favorites to spread the word.

What do I mean by successful? I guess for the most part, when you make a post to share information, you get feedback of some sort. When you make friends, you generally expect feedback within that group of people, and vice versa. When you don’t hear from them in a while, you check their profile to see if everything is okay, and ask other people about them.  I haven’t quite gotten there yet, and I won’t use this post to go into details. But you can always ask me if you want :)

By the way – a couple of the items that I have on are from the Pink Fusion hunt. Some items were tricky to find, so search carefully.

Have fun guys!

Styling Credits

Outfit: [AB] Heart Dress Pink (Pink Fusion Hunt)
Skin: al vulo- Aisha* Candy dark brow sunkissed
Hair: Amacci Hair Seth ~ Onyx
Nails: Candy Nail #FP006 Clear Glitter French Pink
Lolas ::: Tango ::: Mesh Breasts

Makeup:
[mock] Bonjour Matte Lipstick [Turkish Rose]
[mock]Party all night/Indifference Cherry Blossom
blackLiquid MAKEUP –  just gloss
Miamai_Catwalk Lashes_Glitter 01

Jewelry – Chop Zuey
Callicarpia Earrings & Necklace (Pink Fusion Hunt)
The Mystery of Owls Ring

Phone: [ Z U L U ] Phone 5 Black Mesh
Beach towel: Sway’s  (this is an old Costa Rica gift – idk if they have it for sale)
Chocolates & Wine: Creations Kitchen

Leave a Reply

